
Car lease insurance requirements by brand
The liability limits, deductible caps, and named-party rules each captive lender publishes for leased cars — and which ones leave it to the contract.
By LeaseGuru.aiUpdated 13 min read
A leased car carries insurance rules set by the lessor, on top of your state's. The lessor owns the car, so the lease sets its own floor: liability limits, comprehensive and collision, a maximum deductible, and the lessor's name on the policy.
The common answer is 100/300/50 liability with a $1,000 deductible. The Federal Reserve's leasing guide calls that liability level typical, and GM Financial, Nissan/Infiniti, Mercedes-Benz, Volvo, and Tesla publish $100,000/$300,000 bodily-injury floors. But it is not universal. Toyota/Lexus, BMW, and Ford Credit accept your state's minimum liability. Mercedes-Benz and Tesla allow a $2,500 deductible. Hyundai, Kia, and VW/Audi keep the numbers in the contract.
Every row below was read from the captive's own site or its own securities filing, as published in October 2026. Where a captive does not publish a figure, this page says so instead of filling it in. Your signed lease is the final word.
TLDR Quick Guide
What lessors require, by the lenders' own pages:
- All eight captives that publish figures require liability plus physical-damage coverage (comprehensive and collision; Toyota and Tesla say “physical damage insurance”).
- Liability: GM Financial, Nissan/Infiniti, Mercedes-Benz, Volvo, and Tesla publish $100,000/$300,000 bodily-injury minimums. Toyota/Lexus, BMW, and Ford Credit accept the state minimum.
- Deductible: $1,000 maximum at GM Financial, Nissan/Infiniti, Volvo, Toyota/Lexus, BMW, and Ford Credit. $2,500 at Mercedes-Benz and Tesla.
- Name the lessor's trust on the policy, usually as both loss payee and additional insured. The exact name differs by brand.
- Hyundai, Kia, and VW/Audi publish only who to name. Genesis, Subaru, Mazda, and Stellantis publish no figures.
- Gap is a separate question. See the gap guide.
What lessors typically require
The Federal Reserve's consumer guide to vehicle leasing (last updated 2003, still the plainest official summary) says that in most leases you buy and maintain vehicle insurance throughout the term of the lease. It lists the usual package:
- Liability of $100,000/$300,000/$50,000: $100,000 bodily injury per person, up to $300,000 per accident, up to $50,000 property damage.
- Collision, usually with a maximum deductible of $500 or $1,000.
- Comprehensive (fire and theft), usually with a maximum deductible of $500 to $1,000.
The same guide says the maximum deductibles and the limits are set in the lease agreement, and that you can carry lower deductibles or more coverage if you want. The table below shows what each captive publishes today.
What each captive publishes
As published in October 2026. The last column links to the exact page each row was read from, so you can check it yourself.
| Brands | Captive lender | Liability limits | Comp & collision deductible | Name on the policy | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chevrolet, GMC, Buick, Cadillac | GM Financial | $100,000/$300,000 bodily injury. Property damage: “$50,000/$500,000 limits or combined single limits” (GM's wording). | $1,000 maximum on collision, fire, theft and comprehensive. | Not stated on the lease insurance FAQ. | gmfinancial.com |
| Nissan, Infiniti | Nissan Motor Acceptance (NMAC) / Infiniti Financial Services | 100/300/50, or a $300,000 combined single limit (Florida: $500,000). Nissan says Florida leases dated after April 20, 2017 were revised to align with the state minimum “by Florida state law.” | $1,000 maximum each on comprehensive and collision. | Nissan-Infiniti LT as loss payee and additional insured. | nissanfinance.com |
| Mercedes-Benz | Mercedes-Benz Financial Services | Bodily injury at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence; property damage at least $50,000. | $2,500 maximum. Comprehensive and collision for the actual cash value of the vehicle. | Mercedes-Benz Vehicle Trust as loss payee on comprehensive and collision, and as additional insured on liability. | mbusa.com |
| Volvo | Volvo Car Financial Services | $100,000 liability / $300,000 bodily injury / $50,000 property damage per incident, or a $500,000 combined single limit. | $1,000 maximum each on comprehensive and collision. | VCFS Auto Leasing Company as loss payee and additional insured. | volvocarfinancialservices.com |
| Tesla | Tesla Finance | $100,000 bodily injury per person, $300,000 per accident, $50,000 property damage — unless state-specific terms apply. For Tesla Lease Trust leases; with a third-party lessor, Tesla says to ask that lessor. | $2,500 maximum. Physical damage insurance for the full value of the vehicle. | Tesla Lease Trust as lienholder and additional insured. | tesla.com |
| Toyota, Lexus | Toyota Financial Services / Lexus Financial Services | The minimum liability limits your state requires. | $1,000 maximum. Physical damage insurance for the full value of the vehicle. | Not stated for leases. | toyotafinancial.com |
| BMW | BMW Financial Services | State-minimum liability. | $1,000 maximum on comprehensive and collision. | Not stated. | bmwusa.com |
| Ford, Lincoln | Ford Credit | “Generally equal to the minimum state law requirements” (Ford Credit lease-trust prospectus filed July 2026; same wording in its 2023 prospectus on ford.com). | $1,000 maximum, with comprehensive, collision, and liability required. | The titling company as additional insured and loss payee. | sec.gov |
| Honda, Acura | Honda Financial Services / Acura Financial Services | No figure. Honda says to carry physical damage, comprehensive and collision “for the minimum coverages required by the laws of the state in which you reside.” | Not published. | Honda Lease Trust (HVT, Inc. in NY and VA) as additional insured and loss payee. | honda.americanhondafinance.com |
| Hyundai | Hyundai Motor Finance | Not on the public page — the captive points to your lease agreement. HMF names the Motor Vehicle Lease Agreement or Lease Liability Insurance Addendum. | In the same lease documents. (HMF's $1,000 cap applies to financed cars, not leases.) | Hyundai Lease Titling Trust as loss payee. | hmfusa.com |
| Kia | Kia Finance America | Not on the public page — the captive points to your lease agreement. KFA names the Motor Vehicle Lease Agreement or Lease Liability Insurance Addendum. | In the same lease documents. (KFA's $1,000 cap applies to financed cars, not leases.) | Kia Lease Titling Trust as loss payee. | kiafinance.com |
| Volkswagen, Audi | Volkswagen Credit / Audi Financial Services | Not on the public page — the captive points to your lease agreement. VW and Audi say it is listed on the back of the contract. | Not published. | VW Credit Leasing, Ltd. as additional insured and loss payee. | vw.com |
- GM Financial's property-damage line reads “$50,000/$500,000 limits or combined single limits.” It is quoted as GM prints it. Check your contract for the exact figure.
- Ford Credit has no consumer page on this. Its row comes from the Ford Credit Auto Lease Trust 2026-B prospectus filed with the SEC in July 2026, which describes the standard lease: comprehensive, collision, and liability, liability generally at the state minimum, a $1,000 deductible cap, and the titling company named on the policy. Its 2023 prospectus on ford.com has the same liability, deductible, and titling-company terms.
- Nissan says the minimums for its Florida leases dated after April 20, 2017 “have been revised to align with the state minimum by Florida state law.”
- Tesla's figures are for Tesla Lease Trust leases. For a car leased through a third-party lessor, Tesla says to ask that lessor.
- Hyundai and Kia publish a $1,000 deductible cap, but only for financed cars. For leases, both point to the lease agreement or a Lease Liability Insurance Addendum.
Brands that do not publish requirements
We found no published lease insurance figures for these captives. Mazda's FAQ, for example, says only “Please refer to your contract for insurance requirements.” That is not a sign the requirements are lower. It means the only reliable source is the insurance clause in your lease, or a call to the lender on your statement.
| Brands | Captive lender | Liability limits | Comp & collision deductible | Name on the policy | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Genesis | Genesis Finance | Not published | Not published | Not published | — |
| Subaru | Subaru Motors Finance (Chase) | Not published | Not published | Not published | — |
| Mazda | Mazda Financial Services | Not published | Not published | Not published | — |
| Jeep, Ram, Dodge, Chrysler | Stellantis Financial / Chrysler Capital | Not published | Not published | Not published | — |
Why lessors require more than the state
On a lease the car belongs to the leasing company, not to you. Volvo Car Financial Services says it plainly: the leasing company owns a leased vehicle and is listed as loss payee “to ensure the proceeds from insurance settlements are used to repair damages to the vehicle.”
The additional-insured role covers the other risk. Volvo again: it “affords the leasing company protection under the liability section of the insurance policy.”
Five captives publish fixed liability numbers: GM Financial, Nissan/Infiniti, Mercedes-Benz, Volvo, and Tesla. Two of them qualify their own floors. Tesla's limits apply “unless you're subject to state-specific terms.” Nissan says its Florida leases dated after April 20, 2017 were revised to the state minimum “by Florida state law.” The others publish no state exceptions, so check your contract.
State minimum vs. lease requirement
State minimums are what you need to register and drive legally. The lease adds its own floor, and you have to meet both. Here are three states that come up in search suggestions for this question, from each state's own agency:
| State | State minimum | Source |
|---|---|---|
| California | $30,000 injury/death to one person, $60,000 to more than one, $15,000 property damage. | dmv.ca.gov |
| Texas | 30/60/25: $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident, $25,000 property damage. | tdi.texas.gov |
| Florida | $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) to register. | flhsmv.gov |
So a Californian leasing through GM Financial, Nissan/Infiniti, Mercedes-Benz, Volvo, and Tesla needs more than three times the state's bodily-injury limits. Someone leasing through Toyota/Lexus, BMW, and Ford Credit may be able to carry the state minimum for liability, but still needs comprehensive and collision under the deductible cap. Other states are not listed here. Check your state's DMV or insurance department for its figure.
What happens if your coverage lapses
The Federal Reserve's leasing guide is direct: “If you fail to keep the insurance coverage in force, you will be in default of your lease agreement.” It lists what can follow:
- When the lessor finds out, you may be told to get coverage immediately to avoid repossession.
- If the car stays uninsured, the lease may be terminated and the car repossessed.
- You may be liable for early termination charges.
Lenders find out in different ways. GM Financial says some insurers routinely report lapses to lienholders. Mercedes-Benz Financial Services says cancellation notices must reach it within 30 days of the effective date. Ford Credit's prospectus says the dealer confirms insurance at signing, and Ford Credit generally does not track it after that.
On financed cars, the CFPB says the contract usually lets the lender buy “force-placed insurance” if yours lapses. It protects only the lender, you are charged for it, and it is usually much more expensive than a policy you buy yourself. The CFPB describes this for auto loans. No captive above publishes a force-placed policy for leases, so read the insurance clause in your contract to see what yours allows.
There is a gap-coverage cost too. Mercedes-Benz says its lease gap waiver applies only “as long as your insurance is in place at the time of the loss.” Let the policy lapse and a total loss could leave you owing the difference.
Gap coverage is a separate question
None of the requirements above is gap coverage. Gap covers the difference between what insurance pays on a total loss and what you still owe on the lease. Some leases include a gap waiver: Tesla says its leases come with gap protection, and Mercedes-Benz waives the difference less your deductible. Many captives do not say either way. The gap guide covers how to check your contract in two minutes and when buying coverage is worth it.
Do you need gap insurance on a lease?: which captives include a waiver, and how to check yours
Budget insurance into the lease cost
Insurance at the lessor's limits is a cost of the lease that never shows up in the advertised payment, and it runs for the whole term. Get a quote for the exact limits and deductible your lessor requires before you sign, then add it to the payment when you compare offers.
Total lease cost calculator: add insurance to the full cost of the lease
What a lease really costs: the costs that are not in the advertised payment
See what is leasing well right now
Live listings ranked by LeaseGuru deal score, with payment, due at signing, and term on each card.
- View deal details
DemoScore1002021 Porsche Taycan CPO Turbo S
- Monthly:
- $1,079/mo
- Due at signing:
- $5,499
- Term:
- 24 mo
California
- View deal details
DemoScore962025 Audi A5 Premium
- Monthly:
- $239/mo
- Due at signing:
- $3,999
- Term:
- 24 mo
California
- View deal details
DemoScore942026 Mercedes-Benz GLE SUV 4Matic 350
- Monthly:
- $379/mo
- Due at signing:
- $3,499
- Term:
- 24 mo
South
Key Takeaways
- All eight captives that publish figures require liability plus comprehensive and collision (or “physical damage”). Honda and the Federal Reserve's guide say to keep coverage for the whole term.
- GM Financial, Nissan/Infiniti, Mercedes-Benz, Volvo, and Tesla publish $100,000/$300,000 bodily-injury minimums; Toyota/Lexus, BMW, and Ford Credit accept the state minimum.
- Six of the eight captives that publish a cap set it at $1,000. Mercedes-Benz and Tesla allow $2,500.
- Name the lessor's trust on the policy, usually as loss payee and additional insured. Copy the exact name from your lender's page or contract.
- Letting coverage lapse puts the lease in default, per the Federal Reserve's leasing guide, and can end in repossession and early termination charges.
- Hyundai, Kia, and VW/Audi keep limits in the contract; Genesis, Subaru, Mazda, and Stellantis publish no figures.
Ready to see real lease offers?
Share your ZIP and we'll match you with current deals. Free, no obligation.
FAQs
Liability plus comprehensive and collision, with the lessor named on the policy. GM Financial, Nissan/Infiniti, Mercedes-Benz, Volvo, and Tesla publish $100,000/$300,000 bodily-injury minimums. For property damage, four of them print $50,000 and GM prints “$50,000/$500,000 limits or combined single limits.” Toyota/Lexus, BMW, and Ford Credit accept your state's minimum liability. Six of the eight captives that publish a deductible cap set it at $1,000.
Yes, in practice. All eight captives that publish figures require liability plus comprehensive and collision, which is what people usually mean by full coverage (Toyota and Tesla word it as “physical damage insurance” for the full value of the car). Mercedes-Benz requires comprehensive and collision for the car's actual cash value. Honda requires comprehensive and collision without naming a liability figure.
Liability limits of $100,000 for bodily injury to one person, $300,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $50,000 for property damage. The Federal Reserve's leasing guide calls it the typical lease requirement, and Nissan, Mercedes-Benz, Volvo, and Tesla publish it. Nissan and Volvo also accept a combined single limit instead ($300,000 and $500,000).
Yes. The lessor's trust usually goes on the policy as loss payee and additional insured. The name differs by brand: Honda Lease Trust, Nissan-Infiniti LT, Mercedes-Benz Vehicle Trust, VCFS Auto Leasing Company, Tesla Lease Trust, Hyundai or Kia Lease Titling Trust, VW Credit Leasing, Ltd. Copy it exactly from your lender's page or your contract.
$1,000 at GM Financial, Nissan/Infiniti, Volvo, Toyota/Lexus, BMW, and Ford Credit. Mercedes-Benz and Tesla allow up to $2,500. Honda/Acura, Hyundai, Kia, and VW/Audi do not publish a lease deductible cap, so check your contract.
Usually not. Toyota/Lexus, BMW, and Ford Credit accept the state minimum for liability, but still require physical-damage coverage under a $1,000 deductible. GM, Mercedes-Benz, Volvo, and Tesla publish liability floors above the California and Texas minimums (California's is $30,000/$60,000/$15,000), and Nissan does too outside Florida. For Florida leases dated after April 20, 2017, Nissan says its minimums align with the state minimum under Florida law.
The Federal Reserve's leasing guide says letting coverage lapse puts you in default of the lease. The lessor may tell you to get coverage immediately; if the car stays uninsured, the lease may be terminated, the car repossessed, and you may owe early termination charges. On financed cars, the CFPB says lenders can usually buy force-placed insurance and charge you for it. Check your lease's insurance clause for what your lessor can do.
Related guides
12 minDo you need gap insurance on a lease?
Whether your lease already includes a gap waiver, how to verify it in the contract — not on your insurance card — and when buying coverage is still worth it.
4 minWho finances your lease: captive lenders by brand
The finance company on your statement, by brand — not the dealership — and the official domain for each captive.
11 minWhat a lease really costs: upfront money and effective monthly
The two numbers an ad never shows you: what leaves your account at signing, and what the lease costs per month once that money is spread across the term.
Ready to compare?
Compare live listings by payment, drive-off, and term, then request help on a deal when you are ready.
