Skip to content
Diagram of lease-end paths, illustrating that a Honda lessee can buy the car at the contract purchase price or return it

How Honda leases work: Leadership Leasing, the purchase price, and what Honda doesn't publish

What Honda's Leadership Leasing program promises, how the lease-end purchase price and wear waiver work, and which fees you have to get from your own contract.

By LeaseGuru.aiUpdated 5 min read

Honda and Acura leases are written by Honda Financial Services and Acura Financial Services, operating as American Honda Finance Corporation. Honda markets its retail lease as Leadership Leasing, and the program has a few specific protections that are worth knowing before you compare it with another brand.

Honda's public pages do not list an acquisition fee, a disposition fee, late-fee terms, deposit programs, or transfer rules. This guide covers what Honda does publish and tells you where the rest has to come from.

Facts below come from Honda's Leadership Leasing page and PDF as recorded in LeaseGuru's by-brand guides. Offers change monthly, so check them against your worksheet.

TLDR Quick Guide

  • Leadership Leasing terms run 24 to 60 months, with flexible mileage and no public 10k/12k/15k menu.
  • Honda publishes a guaranteed purchase price at lease end, and its PDF states there is no purchase-option fee.
  • A standard $500 excessive wear-and-use waiver comes with the lease; loyal customers may get a second $500 waiver and a waived turn-in fee.
  • Honda does not publish an acquisition fee, disposition fee, late fee, deposit program, or transfer policy. Read your contract.
  • Return overage is recorded at $0.20 a mile in our brand comparison; the figure in your contract governs.

See today's live lease deals →

What Leadership Leasing includes

Honda's retail lease program is branded Leadership Leasing. The Leadership Leasing PDF lists terms of 24 to 60 months, and Honda.com describes terms and mileage allowances as flexible rather than publishing a menu of 10,000, 12,000, or 15,000-mile tiers.

  • A guaranteed purchase price at the end of the lease, set in the contract.
  • No purchase-option fee, per the Leadership Leasing PDF.
  • A $500 excessive wear-and-use waiver on the standard program.
  • On One-Pay leases, Honda.com lists Guaranteed Asset Protection (GAP) coverage as a highlight.

Captive lenders by brand

Buying out a Honda lease

Honda.com says you may purchase the vehicle at the guaranteed purchase price or return it. That price is fixed in the contract, and the PDF states there is no purchase-option fee.

Honda's materials describe keeping or reselling the car after you buy it at that price. That is a lessee buyout. Honda does not state whether a third-party dealer can pay off the lease on your behalf, so ask Honda Financial Services before you plan a dealer-assisted sale.

Lease-end buyout policy by brand

Wear waiver and loyalty

The standard Leadership Leasing contract includes a $500 excessive wear-and-use waiver, but Honda's page does not say how it is applied, so confirm that in your contract. Honda says loyal customers who purchase or lease their next Honda may qualify for an additional $500 waiver and a waived turn-in fee. Honda does not publish a cash-on-the-hood loyalty schedule on that PDF.

Lease loyalty programs by brand

Lease wear and tear

Mileage on a Honda lease

Honda does not publish extra-mile pricing on its leasing page, and says return overage is in the contract. In LeaseGuru's brand comparison, Honda's return overage is recorded at $0.20 a mile, with prepaid miles at $0.15. Treat those as a benchmark and confirm the rate on your own contract.

Mileage overage fees by brand

Mileage overage calculator

What Honda does not publish

Honda Financial Services does not state a figure for the following on its public pages. We list them so you know what to ask for in writing.

  • Acquisition fee: not published. It should appear as a line item on your worksheet.
  • Disposition and turn-in fees: not published. Check the turn-in section of your contract, and the loyalty waiver above.
  • Late fees and grace period: not published.
  • Multiple security deposits: not published as a program.
  • Lease transfer: not published.

Acquisition fees by brand

Disposition fees by brand

Current Honda lease deals by model

Compare live Honda listings by model:

Shopping a Honda lease?

Honda lease offers change each month by region. Compare live listings on effective monthly cost, not the advertised payment.

  1. View deal details
    2026 Honda Prologue EX AWD
    Score87

    2026 Honda Prologue EX AWD

    Monthly:
    $389/mo
    Due at signing:
    $1,779
    Term:
    33 mo

    National

  2. View deal details
    2026 Honda Prologue EX 2WD
    Score85

    2026 Honda Prologue EX 2WD

    Monthly:
    $399/mo
    Due at signing:
    $1,789
    Term:
    30 mo

    National

  3. View deal details
    2026 Honda Prologue Touring 2WD
    Score79

    2026 Honda Prologue Touring 2WD

    Monthly:
    $459/mo
    Due at signing:
    $1,849
    Term:
    33 mo

    National

Browse all live lease deals →

Key Takeaways

  • Honda's headline protections are the guaranteed purchase price, no purchase-option fee, and a $500 wear waiver.
  • Honda publishes terms of 24 to 60 months but no public mileage tiers, so ask for the allowance in writing.
  • Acquisition and disposition fees are not published; get both from the worksheet before you sign.
  • Staying with Honda may earn an extra $500 wear waiver and a waived turn-in fee.
  • Confirm third-party buyout rules with Honda Financial Services before planning a dealer-assisted sale.

Ready to see real lease offers?

Share your ZIP and we'll match you with current deals. Free, no obligation.

FAQs

The Leadership Leasing PDF lists terms of 24 to 60 months. The term on a specific offer is shown on that offer and on your worksheet.

Yes. Honda publishes a guaranteed purchase price at lease end, and Honda.com says you may purchase the vehicle at that price or return it. The Leadership Leasing PDF states there is no purchase-option fee.

Honda does not publish a disposition fee amount on its public pages, so the number has to come from your own contract. Loyal customers may qualify for a waived turn-in fee.

The standard Leadership Leasing program includes a $500 excessive wear-and-use waiver. Loyal customers who buy or lease their next Honda may qualify for an additional $500 waiver and a waived turn-in fee.

Honda does not publish a multiple security deposit program on its public pages. If you want one, ask the dealer whether Honda Financial Services allows it on your contract.

Related guides

Ready to compare?

Compare live listings by payment, drive-off, and term, then request help on a deal when you are ready.